Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

Days 5 & 6 and Independence Day

on July 5, 2013

Happy 5th of July!  I wasn’t around to post yesterday since I was busy getting up at the crack of dawn to run a 5k with my Dad, helping him set up a new pool, and then swimming, eating, and hanging out with family and friends for the remainder of the afternoon and evening!

My adorable nephew and I in our 4th outfits after my run!

My adorable nephew and I in our 4th outfits after my run!

Wednesday night was spent catching up on laundry and chilling out from vacation recovery, which is such a funny thing!  We come home from vacation and need to recover from it.  We made a delicious dinner of grilled chicken and lots of veggies topped with a homemade jam we bought at the Arts and Crafts show in Lockport, a Roasted Red Pepper Horseradish jam! It tastes awesome on chicken and we hope to try it on shrimp next.

dinner 7-3

Grilled Chicken with Pepper and Onions, Salad and Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Yesterday morning for the 5k was HOT.  As someone on the Tidewater Striders facebook page accurately put it, “What a hot, muggy, and humid run this morning but I’m glad I did it!”.  Amen.  I started off way too fast yesterday with my first mile coming in at 8:30, and I was burning up and feeling pretty fatigued right away.  I had a feeling that Dad was going to finally catch me today and spoiler alert….he did!  Mile two came in at 9:55 and I literally struggled just to make that happen at that point.  I wanted to walk (it was that bad for me) but I knew I wouldn’t be happy with myself if I did.  I don’t even remember looking at my Garmin to see what mile 3 and .1 registered at but I know it was really slow going.  Dad came from behind at the 3 mile marker and I didn’t have it in me to battle him.  Final time a sorry (for me) 30:51.

This race told me 2 things and reminded me of 1 I already knew.  1) My Dad is awesome (sort of already knew this one too) and his training is paying off!  It doesn’t hurt that he is naturally athletic but I have no excuse because I think I get that from him.  2) I HAVE to get back into the swing of regular training.  I have done a few training runs but they’ve been on the treadmill and not outside where they belong.  I am going to remedy that this weekend.  I WILL! 3) I suck at the art of the 5k.  It really is difficult for me to push myself to endure the pain necessary to push it to the limit for a good 5k.  I want to work on that and make it my goal to run at or close to a 25 minute 5k by New Year’s Eve.  I realize this is pretty ambitious based on my current PR but I know I can do it if I work for it.

Weight Loss Challenge Days 5 & 6:

Since I was MIA yesterday, I’m making up for lost time.

Day 5: What is your favorite healthy food ?:

This one is easy!  If you’re actually reading this and you’ve read posts in the past, I am a sweet potato freak!  I am also a reformed sweet potato eater.  Growing up the only way I knew to eat sweet potatoes was mixed with lots of sugar and butter in sweet potato casserole (which is still delicious at holidays I might add), in sweet potato pie (also yummy) or at a steak house topped with lots of butter and brown sugar.  Even before I started this weight loss/running journey after getting married, I was STILL eating them this way.  Ben mentioned that he never liked them sweetened and ate them with only a little bit of sea salt instead, so I gave it a try and have never looked back.  The salt brings out the natural sweetness of the potato (duh) and there is no need for any other seasoning.  We enjoy this awesome orange vitamin and potassium packed side baked with salt sprinkled on or plain, or cut up and roasted as chips, fries, or just quartered bites on a regular basis, at least twice a week.

Day 6: What is your favorite unhealthy food?:

Easy peasy, DONUTS!  I enjoyed some yesterday after my race as well.  I have always maintained and continue to do so that if I could eat one food calorie free for the rest of my life, it would without a doubt be donuts.  So many delicious possibilities.  Yesterday we did Krispy Kreme and had a few hot regular glazed and a few others including chocolate glazed cake and of course, red white and blue sprinkles.  I have to be very careful with donuts because I have a VERY hard time controlling myself when they are around.  I was on a good streak for a while where I would just have half of a few or even fourths of four and I need to get back to that, among many other habits.

I am going to weigh in this weekend, probably Sunday morning, so there will be no more playing around after that accountability bomb drops!  Have a nice weekend and do something fun and active!  I am hoping for two good training runs and a nice bike ride or two.

Leave a Reply

