Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

Weekend Weigh-In and Mo Veggies Please

on March 4, 2013

Happy Monday morning….or not.  Trying to be optimistic about the week here!  I’ve been blissfully ignoring the scale lately and it is certainly starting to show.  I did a lot of dumb things over the past few weeks eating wise and I’d like to share, but first here is today’s number:

scale 3-4-13

Not too bad, but definitely creeping back up, which is obviously the wrong way.  Basically, I think I can blame a number of different things for this.  A) The bulk of my longest runs were in the past few weeks and I was insatiable hungry all.the.time.  Not an excuse to go crazy though! B) I tried to do a “cleanse” that turned out all wrong.  After seeing/reading lots of good things about Advocare on different blogs, I thought I might give it a try.  I was super skeptical of the products (and any like them for that matter) but I started seeing it crop up on blogs I consider trustworthy and gave the Herbal Cleanse a try.  I’ll be honest, I did all the recommended eating and followed the nutrition to a T and had to quit on day 4.  The fiber drink was awful, the horse pills I had to take at night made me gag and literally throw up in my mouth once, and I felt like ASS the entire week.  I had horrible headaches at work and random moments of nausea.  Without giving TMI, I also didn’t have a…ahem…movement for 4 days!  I did some research online and Advocare claimed these could be normal side effects of the “toxins” leaving your body, but I just couldn’t function at work or feel good enough to get in good runs, so I quit.  Anything that puts me THAT out of wack just isn’t worth it for me.  By the way, I boomeranged after that and ate like I just came out of starvation.  Weight gain source #2! C) I just like food, a lot and tend to swing back to old habits and get carried away sometimes.

All that said, I’ve made a commitment this week to getting back on track and making my body happy.  No more restrictive eating, just giving myself what I want and staying close to my goal intake for the day with lots of fresh fruits and veggies!  I already eat pretty healthy at meal times and take in 100-120 oz of water a day anyway, so why I thought I needed a cleanse to fix me I’m not sure.  I just need to buckle down and go back to doing what worked for me when I lost the weight in the first place and what always works without fail, eat right and work hard at the gym!  Rocket science, yes I know.

I also challenged my parents, sister, and aunt to start making this commitment with me this week.  We’ve all gotten a little complacent with our eating and the cold weather has been keeping us indoors, and we have to change that!  We all weighed in together yesterday to start the week with accountability.  I made myself this big old omlette blob of eggs with lots of veggies towards my goal of eating more of them, and we also had a great meal last night that was full of them!  We made Skinnytaste Buffalo Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw and they were delicious!  The burgers themselves had shredded carrots and onions in them which you hardly noticed but added extra veggies to the meal.  The broccoli slaw on top, roasted sweet potato wedges and giant salad on the side pumped up the nutrition too.  It was a super satisfying and filling dinner I’m looking forward to enjoying leftovers of today!

1 egg, 2 whites and red peppers, green peppers, tomato and spinach

1 egg, 2 whites and red peppers, green peppers, tomato and spinach (beautiful blurry shot)

Buffalo Turkey Burger with Broccoli Slaw, Roasted Sweet Potato, Salad & Beer

Buffalo Turkey Burger with Broccoli Slaw, Roasted Sweet Potato, Salad & Beer

I’ve been keeping up with Bodypump and can definitely tell a difference in my arms especially! I also got my first swim workout in for the week and man, it really takes it out of me. I’ll finish off today with a photo of Halligan sitting on our couch like a human with demon eyes. He is so lazy, but a stunner none the less.

halligan human

Workout: 4 miles (Treadmill) + Abs

Leave a Reply

