Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

I’m Not Dead and….It’s March???

on March 1, 2013

February came and went!  Lots happened and I’ve been putting blogging on the back burner to make sure I’m getting all my last training in (the bulk of which is now done!) and keeping up with school work, which unfortunately turned out to be much more time consuming than I thought.  Instead of going over it all, I’ll recap with a few pictures I’ve had laying around:

Super fun ski weekend with my boo!

My slope buddy

My slope buddy

mountainsunrise

Fresh snow and mountain sunrise

beer

how you should start your weekend…carb load

chocolatetorte

and chocolate loading

please take your crock pot skiing.  8 hours on the slopes = dinner.

please take your crock pot skiing. 8 hours on the slopes = dinner.

then you have the energy to go back out and night ski

then you have the energy to go back out and night ski

and if you're lucky your husband knows how to make fire

and if you’re lucky your husband knows how to make fire

...and have dessert (hot toddy not pictured)

…and have dessert (hot toddy not pictured)

my lonely skis on an empty slope, hitting it early for freshness!

my lonely skis on an empty slope, hitting it early for freshness!

some sexy snowboarder I met...

some sexy snowboarder I met…

why he would hit the slopes with a dork like me...unsure.

why he would hit the slopes with a dork like me…unsure.

the brunch every session should conclude with....breakfast nachos??!

the brunch every session should conclude with….breakfast nachos??!

We had a great time skiing and eating, and skiing, and drinking and eating. Please check out Devil’s Backbone brewery for the food and brew if you are ever up near Wintergreen…phenomenal.  It was February, so Valentines Day happened.  I had a romantic 9.5 mile date with the treadmill followed by pizza and wine with my honey at home!  I also made him a special Valentines Day breakfast.

Pinterest has turned me into a weirdo...

Pinterest has turned me into a weirdo…

In other Valentiney news, I ran the Virginia is for Lovers, and as indicated by the PR page, crushed last year’s (and Ben’s last) time! My training this spring has paid off and it is showing. I wanted to do a full race recap but it just aint happening this month folks.

cupid?

cupid?

I also ran my final Distance Series of the winter and it was also a great success! It was cold and rainy but around 200 runners still showed up and made it happen for a 20 or 30K! The 30K distance was my best ever, keeping my pace under 10 minute miles throughout. I feel super confident and ready to race at Shamrock after that run. What didn’t excite me was what happened after. The bouncing for 18.something miles plus rain and wind ended with a ponytail that completely matted and hair that looked like this:

Nappy as hell is all I can say...

Nappy as hell is all I can say…

Ben combed my hair out for almost 1.5 hours…HUSBAND OF THE YEAR AWARD! I want to keep up with monthly goals, so although I still won’t be around much for the next few months, lets revisit February’s goals:

1.  Complete at least 1 swim workout per week Yikes!  I got in two all month….

2. Run at least 115 miles Only got in 100, but they were productive ones!

3. Eat more fresh fruits and vegetables Stellar on this one

4. Lose around 4 lbs (closer to final goal!) Still working on this…have to find a good hunger from running balance!  Didn’t gain though!

5. PR at Virginia is for Lovers 14k

6.  Clean out 3 dresser drawers I did this!!!!

I also signed up for my sprint tri, so I’m on my way towards completing that resolution!  Now I just need to get on those swim workouts….

March Goals

1.  At least 1 swim workout per week…a MUST!

2.  Run 80 tracked miles (marathon recovery!)

3.  Lose 3 pounds and keep progressing towards goal

4. Run Shamrock and PR!

5.  Weight Train 2x per week

6.  Reorganize Closet

7.  Create system for household chores (this sounds dumb, but I get behind!!)

 

Here’s hoping for a more productive month that doesn’t fly by quite so quickly!  I’m going to try and be more consistent here, at least twice per week for now but I have to keep my priorities in line 🙂

Leave a Reply

