Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

February Goals and 1st Vacay of 2013!

on February 1, 2013

So cliche, but where did January go again?  It has been a bit of a whirlwind of a month but lots of great things happened!  I didn’t officially talk about goals for the month of January since I was busy being a resolutionary but I can look back and see how some of those resolutions are coming along based on January activities.  I talked about 8 Resolutions and I can honestly say that in January, I made solid progress towards all but one.

I ran a grand total of around 107 miles this past month!  That is definitely the most miles I’ve ever run in a month and I’m thankful that I’m finally training the right way and staying dedicated.  I’m thankful for the Chilly Challenge for helping me stay motivated!  Another challenge coming up in February 🙂  I’d say I’ve made a good dent in the 1,000 miles I want to conquer this year.

I PR’ed in the 5k distance on New Year’s Day, so I can cross .25 off my list of distances to PR in this year.

I have been using fruits and veggies as snacks more and more and feel like I’m well on my way to making it a habit!   I need to take more pictures so I can remember what I’m putting in.

I haven’t taken a class in something new YET, but I have done some research.  I found a sushi making class I really wanted to take but it was already full 😦  I’m thinking of another cooking class of some sort and will definitely be looking into other things as well in the coming months.

Being green….I think I used my fabric produce bags at least twice this month out of 4 grocery trips so I’ll call that progress.  I only forgot my fabric shopping bags once because it was an impromptu trip.  Recycling has been as usual and I’m TRYING to use less paper towels.

I haven’t signed up for my first triathlon yet but I’m pretty set on which one I’ll try!  It will be in early April and I have a few other short distance ones later in the summer I’m eyeballing.  I’ve also started planning swim workouts for the coming weeks.

Purge unnecessary junk….um haven’t done it.  I’ve been riding around like a hobo with a bag of clothes we packed up in my car for 3 weeks that just needs to be dropped off at Goodwill so I’ll call that a loss…..

Finally budgeting for the week.  I think I’ve been rocking this pretty well!  Still haven’t had the time to sit down and transition to an app but will do soon.

All that said, here are February’s goals:

1.  Complete at least 1 swim workout per week

2. Run at least 115 miles

3. Eat more fresh fruits and vegetables

4. Lose around 4 lbs (closer to final goal!)

5. PR at Virginia is for Lovers 14k

6.  Clean out 3 dresser drawers

Looking forward to checking these off (hopefully).  In other news, I made one of my new favorite dinners for when Ben is at work.  I made a simple tuna salad with pickles and light olive oil mayo (I was out of avocado!) and put it on an english muffin with thin provolone and spinach.  Sadly I didn’t have tomato slices which would have made this 10x better.

Dinner for one paired with steamed dijon carrots and spinach

Dinner for one paired with steamed dijon carrots and spinach

It was a super satisfying dinner that I followed up with a spoonful of natural crunch peanut butter, mi amore. Last night after I crushed a 9 mile run at the gym my amazing man, who just so happens to moonlight as a professional omelet maker, made me the best omelet I’ve ever hand, hands down. Filled with grilled ham steak, roma tomatoes, red onion, spinach, and shredded cheddar. 1 egg and 2 whites, just the way I like it, can’t forget the salsa!

Amazing Omelet with Frozen Thawed Strawberries/Blueberries

Amazing Omelet with Frozen Thawed Strawberries/Blueberries

Can we talk about these berries for a second? I froze them in the fall and they are so delish. Am I the only one who thinks still half frozen berries are the best? We went out to run errands for our much anticipated Wintergreen weekend of skiing and snowboarding so naturally we had to swing by Sweet Frog for froyo. I intended to take a photo of the deliciousness that ensued but I just had to dig in and forgot. I tried a new flavor, low fat fudge brownie batter, on top of my usual cake batter and topped with chocolate sprinkles and mini m&m’s. Had to keep it simple people. Hope everyone has a fabulous weekend, and here’s to hoping I don’t do any crazy stunts on the mountain!

Leave a Reply

