Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

It Was A Snow-GO, Weekend in Photos

on January 28, 2013

The Weatherman called for snow Friday afternoon and evening, and he delivered!  The forecast said we would get 1-3 inches variably and maybe a little more in some areas, and that was pretty spot on with 1.5 inches in P-town.  If you are reading and you aren’t from the Mid-Atlantic or South, you won’t understand why this is a big deal.  I know for sure that people up North chuckle at us when we get a tiny bit of snow, but we just aren’t used to it!  Furthermore, we have such a large military presence in Hampton Roads that we have transplants from all over who have no idea how to drive or what to do in winter weather….basically, pardon my French but there is no other way to say it, it’s a clusterfuck.  I was one of the can’t drive in it to save my life folks who was happy to get out of work early and plant myself on the couch!  The bulk came down at rush hour and it took many people 3+ hours to get home.  This is what it looked like when I got near my house and it didn’t even start snowing until the minute we left work!

Slippery!

Slippery!

The biggest bummer of all was that my Distance Series race WAS indeed cancelled.  The other big bummer is that I could NOT make myself do the run on the treadmill.  Not only that, but I didn’t work out much at all in a conventional sense this weekend.

Not sure what's more scary...the quality of this pic or me with a shovel

Not sure what’s more scary…the quality of this pic or me with a shovel

Although I didn’t hit the gym like I should have, I did play in the snow a bit and shovel my driveway and sidewalks on Saturday.  Ben and I also got out and made a snowman or two and exchanged a few snowballs.  Fun was had by all until he hit me in the head with one and pissed me off, lol.  It was short-lived.

Fugly/Creepy snowman I created

Fugly/Creepy snowman I created

Snow Fireman complete with beer button eyes and required fireman stasch

Snow Fireman complete with beer button eyes and required fireman stasch

Proof we still love each other after the snowballs

Proof we still love each other after the snowballs

It was Halligan’s first snow and he absolutely loved it!  He ran around like a crazy dog and tried to scoop it all up with his beard I think!  We romped around with him in the snow as well.

Flying!

Flying!

Gotta love the snowbeard!

Gotta love the snowbeard!

Saturday night was the annual Guns v. Hoses game before the Norfolk Admirals.  Local firefighters play a team of local law enforcement and it is generally good clean fun!  It is hard to see in the first photo but the firefighters won and we couldn’t have been more pleased!  The admirals won as well so it was a good night in my book.

Fire > Police

Fire > Police

The cops acted like jerks this year....

The cops acted like jerks this year….

Sunday morning it was just me and Hal flying solo, so we went for a long walk and thawed out together after.  The scenery with all the snow still out was great and it gave me the chance to scope out the roads for a potential run later in the day.  Although the roads looked decent, I never got out there and I’m beating myself up a little about that today.  Moving on, I AM getting out there this afternoon between work and class!

What's that, a snow goose?

What’s that, a snow goose?

Thawing out together

Thawing out together

Fall down 7 times, get up 8 is what they say, so I’m at it again.  I ate horribly this weekend and let the SNOW be my scapegoat for why I could stay in and eat crappy, why I didn’t have to run or go to the gym, and that was a mistake.  Not sure if I’ll make my weight loss goal this week or not, but regardless I am getting back on track and making healthy choices beginning today.  I haven’t weighed in either and I have a sinking suspicion it’s because I know it will be bad.  Even if I don’t make my goal I will be on the right track this week anyway!  Let’s hope I don’t end up with my head in the peanut butter jar like this guy…

Snowbeard > Peanut Butter Beard

Snowbeard > Peanut Butter Beard

2 responses to “It Was A Snow-GO, Weekend in Photos

  1. Emary says:

    Press on friend! Fantastic pics too btw

Leave a Reply

