Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

And then I went MIA…

on January 24, 2013

So I took a week off, and then some.  I went about 5 days without running because I was tired and lazy and old man winter started getting to me and whispered in my ear that it was time to hibernate.  He also told me it would be a good idea to eat 4654768 pieces of chocolate and other junk WHILE taking a run break….that’s the story I’m sticking to.  Basically, I hit a rut, but I came out on the other side feeling better than ever!  I gained two pounds during my little wintercation but the good news is I came back and shed them and had a lot of fun doing so!  Here are some random photos from my few weeks and some of the fun things I’ve done over the past few weeks.  I’ll admit I was bad in the photo taking department as well but I did remember to document some!

Weight last week after gaining and losing 2lbs

Weight last week after gaining and losing 2lbs

– The first weekend of my “break” we went on a fun family bike ride on the Dismal Swamp Canal Trail!  This is the same trail my Distance Series is taking place on but it is super fun on a bike since you can go really fast for long periods of time.  I biked a little under 15 miles and we followed up with froyo at my favorite treat spot, Sweet Frog!  My parents, sister, brother-in-law and hubs all came along and it was tons of fun!  It was a rare warm January day so we definitely had to take advantage.

Crusin

Crusin

Canal Trail

Canal Trail

– I went on a long run last Saturday and started off from my parents house.  I did some familiar roads I haven’t run on in forever and decided to run to  my old high school while I was in the neighborhood!  I have to cross an overpass to get there so the tiny bit of hill work was good for me and I got to see what’s changed there since I’ve been gone.  I was happy to see that our little field hockey field now has its fence all set up and has a cute little shed to boot!  I got a little nostalgic running back there thinking back to the days of running during practices when I literally thought it was torture.

– ICE SKATING!  I’ve been wanting to go for the longest time, and last weekend my dad, brother-in-law, and Ben and I went and skated for about an hour during free skate.  I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly I picked it up since it had been at least 5 years but I did great and finally learned how to stop without using a wall LOL.  I credit my new experiences with skiing for that.  It sounds weird and probably isn’t that related, but I felt like skiing techniques I’ve learned helped me ice skate/stop better??  Maybe I’m loco on that one.  It was also super cool to see my dad back on skates.  Dad used to play a lot of hockey when he was young, but had not been on skates since before I was born…more than that in fact, about 30 years!  It was awesome to see him go right back to where he left off, zooming around the ice, coming to quick stops (making me nervous!) and just generally looking like he was really enjoying himself.  I told my mom that I wished she could have been there to see it, I was so proud of him and happy that losing all the weight made it possible for him to do that.  I really regret not busting out my camera that day!

– Long walks with my pooch.  I think Halligan has cabin fever too and he has really enjoyed walks when it has been pleasant enough to do so.  We’ve had a couple of really long ones lately and I love spending this time outside with him!

What are you looking at?

What are you looking at?

– Lots of eating and trying to be healthy of course.  I’ve been in a big cooking mood lately and am excited for meals to come!  I’ve got to start food journaling again better but I’ve gotten a few pictures over the past week or so.

Greek Yogurt with Granola and Bananas

Greek Yogurt with Granola and Bananas

Whole Wheat Pancakes with Egg Whites, Turkey Bacon, and Fruit

Whole Wheat Pancakes with Egg Whites, Turkey Bacon, and Fruit

Salad with Deli Chicken, Craisins, and Light Honey Mustard

Salad with Deli Chicken, Craisins, and Light Honey Mustard

Skinnytaste Crockpot Picadillo with Brown Rice and Salad

Skinnytaste Crockpot Picadillo with Brown Rice and Salad

-Last but NOT least and certainly maybe the most exciting thing….I’VE BEFRIENDED THE ENEMY…aka the DREADMILL!  For anyone reading from colder climates, I apologize in advance and I know I’m a wimp, but I just have a hard time wanting to get out in sub freezing temps.  I can do anything down to 40 degrees and after that, I just need to get the run in on the treadmill.  The number one tool in my treadmill arsenal?  My iPad!  I discovered my gym has wifi so I watch all the shows I don’t have time (read, can’t stay up late enough) to watch during the week and the miles literally fly by!  I sprint all the 60-90 second commercials as well which gives my runs a little added boost.

All that said, I’m trying to get my shizz together and I think I’m doing a pretty good job this week.  I have one week left in my Dietbet Challenge and I think I should be able to make my goal!  The Chilly Challenge is also coming to a close and I SHOULD God willing be able to make my goal of running over 100 miles in January.  Team Giraffe is ahead and I am hoping we finish strong!

Another random side note, I’ve been loving Body Pump lately and my sweet friend Jenn and I had the best time last night!  It was the instructors birthday and we all wore hats throughout class to celebrate.  Two of his regulars that have been coming for a long time also dropped their bars and broke out into a choreographed dance during class also, which was hilarious!

Birthday Hats and the Gym = Fab

Birthday Hats and the Gym = Fab

Lots of updates but there is a lot of exciting things ahead!  My second Distance Series race (25k) is this Saturday but the forecast is iffy.  I really hope it doesn’t snow for once because I need to get this run in!  I don’t want to think about what 15 miles on the treadmill would be like.  Even though we are distant buddies now, I just think that would be too tough of a mental challenge for me.

Leave a Reply

