Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

Race Recap: Hair of the Dog 5k

on January 3, 2013

I’ve been slacking on my food photojournaling lately!  I didn’t take a picture of breakfast or lunch yesterday but I did snap dinner.  Breakfast was the usual egg white muffin while lunch was vegetable and whole grain noodle soup.  I am on a big soup kick since winter has set it!  For dinner I grilled some boneless pork chops before heading off to the gym.

Boneless Pork Chop with Brussel Sprouts and Sweet Potato

Boneless Pork Chop with Brussels Sprouts and Sweet Potato

Besides slacking on the photojournaling, I am going to be slacking on this race recap today too since I didn’t take any pictures! It was cold and raining and I was doing good just to make it there and cross the start line so I didn’t take any photos of the race set up or course. This was my first time participating in this particular race but it seemed like it would be a lot more fun with cooperative weather! This was the race’s first year down at the Oceanfront as a boardwalk out and back course (used to be at Mt. Trashmore).  They had plenty of New Year’s garb and trinkets for everyone to wear at packet pick up and t-shirts were pretty decent.  No extra bells or whistles and the start was nothing fancy, but the race was chip timed!

As I mentioned, the race was out and back on the Virginia Beach boardwalk.  There were probably only around 400 runners so this is definitely a small race, although some may have stayed in due to the ugly weather (and maybe the fact that they were hung over?!).  The organizers handed out party poppers for runners to pop at the start which was pretty cool as well.  I barely made it out the door and to the start, so I didn’t even have my Garmin 10 on for this race!  I didn’t wear my phone with my Nike Plus app either since it was raining, therefore no splits to post.  I had no idea how I was doing other than how I felt, which wasn’t that great.  I couldn’t breathe very well due to gunk in my throat and I felt like a lot of people were passing me.  I was surprised to see the clock as I neared the finish line and finished in 28:46, a new PR!

My average pace per mile was 9:17 which is pretty typical these days and my half time was 14:08.  I actually ended up placing 2nd in my age group, which has never happened to me before but I didn’t know it until I got home.  I pretty much crossed the finish line and walked straight to the car where Ben was waiting to take me home to a hot shower and a cup of tea.  There were supposed to be awards for the top 3 in each age group but I guess I’ll never know LOL.  I did manage to snag this picture of my sweaty red face after the race as additional proof that I was there!

Red face = always looks like I'm dying

Red face = always looks like I’m dying

Other fun facts, the race has a couple of different categories other than the run entry, such as formal wear and weight! Some of the formal wear I saw was pretty fun and many people were also dressed in pajamas as they encouraged runners to “come as you are”. The 10 AM start time was also nice for someone who had just run at midnight race and probably good for those who actually went out for New Year’s too! I would definitely do this race again in the future.

Leave a Reply

