Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

You Say You Want a RESOLUTION, Well You Know….

on January 1, 2013

That’s how it goes right?  Kidding.  I’ve never officially done the resolution thing.  I always say “this is what I want to do this year” but I’ve never recorded things and revisited them that I can remember.  I may have written down resolutions once as a teenager or something but I’m sure the piece of paper was buried in my abyss of a room or thrown away before you could say MLK Day.  Having this blog is going to change that, BECAUSE they will be out there for all the world (aka 12 people who might look at this regularly) to see and I will be able to go back and look at them next year if I so choose!  I’ll be honest, I had 7 resolutions and had to come up with an 8th since I’m weird like that and don’t like odd numbers.  Extra points for anyone who can guess which one was an afterthought, but I mean, it is still a good idea in my defense.  I think these are in no particular order?

  1. Run 1,000 Tracked Miles in 2013.  That sounds like a lot and doesn’t all at the same time.  I know for many people that goal is easily achievable, but for a girl who struggles with summer running it will be a challenge!  100 miles a month in the winter, cake.  10 a month in the summer…..HAHA.  I know I can do better in warm weather and I WILL.  If I ran all 365 days (non leap year!) it comes out to an average of only around 2.75 miles per day, which makes it sound better in my opinion.
  2. PR in the Marathon, Half Marathon, 10k and 5k Distances.  I am running a 5k tonight and one tomorrow morning, so who knows?  I don’t run a lot of 5k’s so my current PR leaves a lot to be desired but I can definitely pump it up in 2013 and do some speed work!  I’ve never honestly worked much on speed as I usually just want to finish alive but it’s time.  I plan to make the half my distance from here on out too but I should be able to PR at Shamrock in March!
  3. Eat MORE Fresh Fruit and Veggies.  I’ve already come a long way in this area but I think we can do even better.  I still get lazy sometimes and take the easy way out with frozen but I want to get even more in and make a better effort to frequent all the great farmer’s markets we have available.  Eating organic in at least all the dirty dozen is a goal as well.
  4. Take a Class in Something New.  I just finished school and have one elective in the spring before I have my MPA, but I want to learn something fun and different once I have time!  I want to take a cooking class or go back to really learning Spanish.  Music is on my radar as well as I’ve been wanting to possibly pick up piano lessons I quit when I was a kid.
  5. Be Green-er.  We recycle and I’m religious about my fabric grocery bags (they are easier anyway people!) but we can do better.  I want to recycle more in 2013, drive less, and use my fabric produce bags I purchased as well.  I am toying with the idea of working with Ben to set up a compost system as well since we do have a lot of organic waste.
  6. Sign Up for a Triathlon!  I’ve been toying with this idea for a while and I need to get down to it.  I would love to try a sprint distance this year just to see what it is like.  I don’t own a road bike (mine is a hybrid commuter) and I’m not the most efficient or technically correct swimmer, but I want the experience!  Who knows, it might catch on and I know it will be fun!
  7. Purge Unnecessary Crap.  Literally, but not LITERALLY!  We have too much “stuff” in our already tiny house.  Anything not being used or purposed needs to get the boot in 2013.  I’m talking donating, recycling, trashing, etc.  The stuff has to go.
  8. Stick to Weekly Budgets.  This one is boring but necessary.  I’ve been doing a weekly budget for a while (or at least biweekly) but I need to be consistent and perhaps acquire a tool, like a new iPad app.  Taking suggestions!

If I can remember, I hope to revisit these in July and see how I’m progressing.  Shoot, I should probably take a looksie in April but I don’t want to get carried away.

HAPPY 2013!!!

Leave a Reply

