Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

December…What an Out of Control Month!

on December 28, 2012

So to say the least, this month was crazy!!! I completed my final most difficult semester of graduate school to date, went on a big vacation, and squeezed Christmas and family birthdays in the mix as well!  I came home from vacation only to be greeted by a cold so this week has not been very productive either.  I only managed to get one run in during our vacation, but I’ll get into that when I do a vacation recap later this evening.  I need to get all my photos uploaded first so I can include them as well.  I went to the gym to run 6 last night and only came up with 3.  I am having a hard time with this cold and just felt generally sluggish and like I couldn’t breathe well..and not to mention I was on a treadmill :(.  I’m going to try for a few more miles tonight and then I need to hit 11 on Saturday to make sure I am ready for the distance series I have starting up next weekend.  Here’s what I have planned for the blog this weekend/week ahead: vacation recap, weekend weigh-in, resolutions, race recaps (running 2 next week!), what to do with race stuff, and new running shoes!

In the meantime, I was reflecting on my running in 2012 and realized a couple of things.

– I’m still not “there” but I made so much progress in 2012!  I’ll never be a super fast runner and I don’t think that is what I am aiming for, but I learned how to push myself past the comfort zone but stay in a place where I am not hurting myself.  In doing so, I realized I was capable of more than I believed and truly amazed myself.

– I NEED to run. I think in 2010 and even in 2011, running was still a chore.  I did it to lose weight or maintain, and it was not something I always enjoyed.  Now I feel like it is something I HAVE to do for sanity’s sake.  If I don’t run for several days, it feels wrong and I am twitchy and grumpy.  I like that!  With that said…

– I’ve learned the power of cross training!  Looking back I know that cross training has helped my running all along but I am now consciously aware of that fact.  When I trained for my first half marathon in early 2011, I was doing spin classes regularly and it vastly improved my endurance.  I plan to take this knowledge a step further moving forward.

– I am a cool/cold weather runner.  I think that’s okay and I need to take the summer as a time to get on my bike more and not let the runs I do go on during hot weather discourage me.

Till later tonight, here is a sneak peak of Costa Rica 🙂

Nicoya Bay Sunrise

Nicoya Bay Sunrise

Leave a Reply

