Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

Meet Halligan & Being Healthy as a Pet Owner

on December 13, 2012

How can anyone resist this face??? I know I certainly can’t!

Sweet Pup

Sweet Pup

Ben and I brought Halligan home last February when he was about 9 weeks old and he has made such an impact on our lives!  Dogs, especially puppies, are a HUGE responsibility and although we both grew up with dogs, I think I can speak for both of us and say that raising him between the two of us was definitely an experience.  The great thing about having a dog is that they can easily be active with you or get you out even when you don’t really want to leave the comfort of your couch.

When he was a baby!

When he was a baby!

When he was small, in fact the week after we brought him home, we took Halligan out for walks, just a block at a time until he got used to them.  He absolutely LOVES walks now and gets extremely excited when we ask him if he’d like to go or he sees us pick up the leash.  I will take him for a walk sometimes even if I don’t feel like it just because his reaction is so heart warming 🙂

At the park on a sunny day

At the park on a sunny day

You know I’m that crazy dog person when you see this picture….sadly he outgrew his bike basket but it was fun while it lasted!

Me and Hal visiting by bike!

Me and Hal visiting by bike!

With all this said, I think I can easily say that Halligan has changed my life for the better. I have someone to be my companion and keep me company while Ben is working, not to mention it is embarrassing but we take him EVERYWHERE. There have been numerous studies to suggest that having a pet makes you live longer, and I truly believe it based on several facts. One, I am definitely more likely to go out and be active with him around. I’ll admit he is like his pet parents in that he loves to sleep and definitely lets us sleep in, but he loves to get out and go as well! Two, I think he improves my stress level and mental health when things get crazy around here!

Sandy dog at the beach

Sandy dog at the beach

If you aren’t in a place or situation to have a pet, (especially a dog, I’m definitely a dog person) no worries, there are plenty of them at local shelters who would love to have you come and play with them for a few hours! I’ve gone to shelters in the past to volunteer and generally they will let you walk the dogs or take them out to run around and play. Great exercise for you and at the same time you get to do something fulfilling and feel like you are making a difference to these animals, which you most certainly would be.  Halligan thinks it is a good idea…

Good at the head tilt

Good at the head tilt

Anyway, this post has already been full of photos but I have some more!  I have been super busy finishing up school work this week  and tying up all the loose ends of the semester but I’m happy to announce that I am DONE!  Is it sad that I am excited to JUST go to work and run?  As a result, things will probably get a lot more regular on this blog as well….with the exception of vacation next week 😉

Here are my dinners for the past few nights since I’ve been slacking.  I haven’t eaten super healthy but I’ve done pretty well and don’t think I’ll be doing too shabby this week overall.  I had dinner at my mom’s one night that Ben was at work.  We had one of my favorite things growing up, an english muffin pizza!  I rounded it out with a no sugar added cup of diced peaches.

This definitely looks like a 5 year old's dinner....

This definitely looks like a 5 year old’s dinner….

Another night this week Ben had been working under our house all day and wanted something hearty for dinner.  Ribs were on sale at the store this week and although they are something I don’t usually buy or cook, I baked them in the oven and they were pretty good!  Can’t have ribs without mac & cheese though right?  I went lazy and just grabbed a box of Annie’s Organic.

Quarter Rack of Ribs, Mac & Cheese, and Okra with Tomatoes and Squash

Quarter Rack of Ribs, Mac & Cheese, and Okra with Tomatoes and Squash

I’ll be finishing up lots of Christmas tasks and errands today and tomorrow as we are leaving soon and won’t be back until Christmas Eve! I’ll post an early pre-vacation weigh in tomorrow morning if I get time so I can see how I do on vacation next week. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

