Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

December Goals and Pile on the Miles

on December 5, 2012

Sooo I know it is already December 5th but I want to start posting monthly goals so better late than never??  These goals will definitely be food and fitness related but they will also include personal and professional goals.

Before I get to that I’d like to do a quick recap of the Pile on the Miles challenge I participated in during the month of November.  Monica from RunEatRepeat (one of my favorite blogs!) conducted the challenge and it was a great way to get out there and commit to running more miles during a month that often starts the holiday slump (and consequently chunk, LOL) for many of us.  I set my goal for the month at 75 miles and I am happy to say I met it, finishing out last Saturday with a total of 76 miles!  Whew, just made it didn’t I?  There was a point in the  middle where I knew I could make 100 if I wanted to but I don’t think I had the drive to do it with the stress of the semester coming down on me.  The good news is that running that 75 miles jump started me on my marathon training and I will be running that much plus in the coming months…..leading me to DECEMBER GOALS!

1.  Finish my final school projects like a boss.  Gotta go out with a bang and finish strong!

2.  Do less unhealthy snacking, i.e. IF I really need a snack, especially in the evenings, it needs to be something healthy!

3.  Get all my water in on the weekends.  I always drink to my daily goal during the work week but have a harder time keeping up while I’m running around on the weekends.

4.  Run 20 miles a week or as close as possible to that!  This is a VERY ambitious goal, especially since we have an 8 day vacation smack dab in the middle of December that may make it difficult to run, but I’m up for the challenge!

5.  Get a new PR on December 31st!  This will technically be a January goal I guess since the 5k I am running starts at 11:35 and I definitely won’t finish before midnight, but the prep for it will take place this month I guess.

6.  Photojournal my meals more consistently!  It definitely helps me stay accountable if I take pictures of everything I am eating.  I’ll start by posting some meals I took pictures of but neglected below :/

7.  Take time to soak in the holidays and enjoy myself and time with family and friends!

I think these will suffice for such a busy month.  I can’t wait to really get to the challenging stuff in January with my distance series coming up!  I desperately need new running shoes before then so I’m hoping Santa will come through 😉

Some meals I haven’t posted photos of from the past weeks:

Light Shrimp Scampi Over Spaghetti Squash

Grilled Chicken Breast with Roasted Red Potatoes and Steamed Green Beans

Grilled Chicken Breast with Roasted Red Potatoes and Steamed Green Beans

Pre-Race Meal: Spaghetti with Lean Ground Beef in a Chunky Veggie Red Pepper Sauce with Salad

Pre-Race Meal: Spaghetti with Lean Ground Beef in a Chunky Veggie Red Pepper Sauce with Salad

Thankfully today is my LAST day of class for the semester so posting will be much more frequent and I will really be able to focus on these last few pounds to goal weight!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

