Carpe Run

Seizing the day (and the run) one day and mile at a time!

Healthy Eating for One and The Dreadmill

on November 14, 2012

Good Morning!  Yesterday’s weather was such a downer in Hampton Roads!  Not only did it rain all day and night but it went from 65 degrees when I left the house at 5:30 a.m. to 45 degrees when I got out of work….recipe for pneumonia if you ask me.  Anyhow I got home from work and made this delicious meal for myself before running errands:

Whole wheat wrap with deli chicken, thin sliced cheddar and leftover sauteed apples and onions from a dinner we had with pork chops on Sunday.  It was delicious, easy, and satisfying.  I paired it with a plain baked sweet potato (the kind that is wrapped and you nuke for convenience, 8 mins..I’ll take it!) and a handful of spinach.  It’s amazing how far my food choices have come even since I graduated college.  I will sit and eat raw spinach like potato chips now, in fact the amount I munched on while warming up my wrap and potato isn’t pictured 🙂

That leads me to my next thought…I used to think that eating for one meant it had to be a frozen meal or I had to grab something out.  Totally not true!  Ben is a firefighter and works 24 hour shifts, so I am often left eating alone and have learned how to do that and stay healthy!  Of course I will still indulge in a Chickfila or Panera run from time to time when I am out and about going to class and he is at work, but that is really for time/convenience sake so I’m not eating dinner at 9:00 after class.  I often find myself cooking up a whole spaghetti squash or a bunch of chicken or whatever on Sunday to eat throughout the week and for lunches at work which I ALMOST always pack, more on that another day.  It only takes a few minutes and makes all the difference in the world!

After running errands and hanging out with my sweet pup for a bit, the rain still had not let up and I knew I would be headed to the DREADMILL as I call it at the gym.  Why is it that 3 miles on the road feel like a few minutes of relaxation while the 3 miles on the treadmill felt like legitimate torture?  I know some people love their treadmills but for me it is only in cases of definitely can’t make it outside.  I slugged through and it was tough, but soon enough I was finished and headed home to snuggle with my pup and enjoy my latest obsession with the cold weather, HOT CHOCOLATE which is best topped with as many mini marshmallows as I can fit of course.

LOVE the Runner’s World Body Issue

Workout: 4 miles (road), Plank Challenge workout #2

3 responses to “Healthy Eating for One and The Dreadmill

  1. […] advantage of this run.  It can get really boring running on city streets or God forbid…the DREADMILL and this place is just what the doctor ordered.  There are little signs, a few statues, and […]

  2. […] and certainly maybe the most exciting thing….I’VE BEFRIENDED THE ENEMY…aka the DREADMILL!  For anyone reading from colder climates, I apologize in advance and I know I’m a wimp, but […]

  3. […] treadmill has VASTLY improved my running this training season.  My dear dear frenemy the DREADMILL has become a close buddy of mine.  How this has happened I’ll never know, but I’m glad […]

Leave a Reply

